Board of Police Commissioners welcomes new citizen appointees

March 2, 2016

Sydney, NS – Three citizens of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality were appointed to the CBRM Board of Police Commissioners by Council during the February 16, 2016 meeting.

Nadine Bernard of Sydney, Joe Meaney of North Sydney and Emerson Duff of Glace Bay have accepted their positions for a two-year term. The first meeting of the new commission is Thursday, March 3, 2016.

Nadine Bernard is now working as a consultant. She was formerly with the Nova Scotia Native Council on the Child Help Initiative Program (CHIP) as a prenatal facilitator and family support worker. Nadine’s volunteer experience includes the Nova Scotia Advisory Council on the Status of Women, Cape Breton Interagency on Domestic Violence, Silent Witness board member for Cape Breton, Municipal Alcohol Policy committee member, Child Advocacy Society and Island Justice.

Joe Meaney served the Town of North Sydney as a police officer for 30 years, receiving the Exemplary Police Service Medal. He is the former Chief of Police for North Sydney. Joe’s volunteer experience includes president of the North Sydney Historical Society, Bartown Festival and North Side Economic Development.

Emerson Duff is a retired member of the Canadian Military and Coast Guard. Emerson’s volunteer experience includes the Cape Breton Regional Hospital Foundation, Port Morien Wildlife, and National Little League Championships.

The function of the Board of Police Commissioners is to provide governance on law enforcement and crime prevention, and policy direction for an effective and efficient police department. The board serves as a link between citizens and the police service, helping to establish goals objectives and service delivery that meet the needs and values of the community.

The seven member board consists of three members of CBRM council: Councillor Eldon MacDonald, Councillor Kevin Saccary and Councillor Jim MacLeod. One member, Joseph Gillis, was appointed by the provincial Minister of Justice. There are three citizens-at-large appointed by resolution of council. The board is required to hold a meeting at least once every three months. Meetings are open to the public.

Councillor Eldon MacDonald is the Chair of the Police Commission.

“I look forward to working with our new members of the Police Commission,” said MacDonald. “Nadine, Joe and Emerson bring many years of exceptional experience to our board.”